Press Release. Ryde R. C. Awards Presentation Evening. Friday, Dinner. 22nd December, 2017.

Press Release. Ryde R. C. Awards Presentation Evening. Friday, Dinner. 22nd December, 2017.

Wightlink sponsored Ryde Rowing Club celebrated another successful season at an Awards Presentation at their Clubhouse on the Friday before Christmas (Friday, 22nd December, 2017).  

The newly elected Club Captain Graham Reeve welcomed around fifty members and guests and thanked them for attending and for their support of the Club over the last year with a special thanks to the Clubs main sponsors Wightlink and the main sponsor of the Regatta - TLM Laser.  

Following a presentation on the Clubs achievements in 2017 which included the Clubs Coastal Ladies Junior Fours squad winning the Hants & Dorset ARA Championships before being selected to represent the H&D ARA at the South Coast Rowing Championships where they became South Coast Champions. The Clubs share in the Ladies Novice Sculls Hants & Dorset ARA Championships was also recorded as well as Ben Sandersons victory in the J16 Coastal Single Sculls event at the South Coast Championships Regatta.

The Club's Rowing Captain Mick Jenner then presented the Clubs Annual Awards. The Coxswain's Cup was awarded to Dan Sanderson, in his first year as a competitive coxswain for the Club; the First Year Oarsman Trophy went to his older brother Ben; First Years Ladies was awarded to Freya Drage; Dale Buckett received the Oarsman of the year award - for his four wins in the Coastal Junior Sculls event during the season which earned him the runners-up slot for this Hants & Dorset ARA Championship and Courtney Edmonds received the Ladies award for her part in the Junior Ladies Squad and her two wins in the Novice Ladies Sculls. The Coaches Cup was awarded to Steve Cook - who has taken up an active role in the Club once again. The Committee Cup was awarded to Martin Drage for his support of the Club coaches and the Captains Cup awarded to Tye Cameron for the commitment he has shown. Finally the traditional "First Hants & Dorset ARA win" Club spoons were awarded to Courtney Edmonds and Emily Page with a special "spoon" awarded to retiring Captain and newly elected President of the Club - Pete Allsopp - who "raced" for the Club in the Wightlink Dragon Boat Team.